Santa Hat vs. Crummy Day

I’m having a rough day.  Torrential rain. Arguments with 2 of my kids.  Confrontational email from work colleague.  Photo of my dad, who just passed away, makes me cry.  And it’s only 8:00 a.m. I have to admit that on mornings like this, I have a wrestling match with my Santa Hat.  I eye It warily, circling The Hat like it’s some redoubtable opponent.  Can I really get that on my head today?  AND smile?  I heave it up from the table and drop it down on my head.  It’s a block of cement.  And there ain’t no twinkle in these tired eyes.  Time to pump it up.  Serendipitously, John Lennon’s “Imagine” comes on the radio.  Yes, imagine.  And then a French cover of “Revolution.”  I start rockin’ out around the kitchen.  Still in my robe, Hat swinging around my face.  The absurdity registers, making me smile a little.  A little, but enough.   OK.  Game on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Santa Hat vs. Crummy Day

  1. Linda says:

    Yes, some days it is good enough and turns out more than we can imagine! Another John Lennon song!

Leave a Reply

