How Do I Hold Onto It?

I get to this point every year.  As my time wearing The Santa Hat winds down for another season, I wonder how I can even come close to having this sense of connection with other people? 

Sure, I try smiling and looking for opportunities to chat with folks.  But The Hat sends such a strong signal of openness, playfulness, lightness.  I can’t seem to approximate that without The Hat.  And people don’t respond in the same way.

My younger son suggests that I wear The Santa Hat way beyond the holidays.  Hmmmm.  I’m not quite ready to do that, although it could definitely be an interesting social experiment :).

I guess for now, I’ll go back over this season’s memories and hold them as close to my heart as possible.  And in a few days when I put away The Santa Hat  for another year, I’ll try to pretend for as long as possible that I’m still wearing it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

